Brintellix not working #brintellix #antidepressants New blog post

I’ve been on the Brintellix for nearly a month. It doesn’t feel like it’s doing anything at all. I’m not having any adverse side effects but I’m also not feeling any better. I have had a few episodes with anger and I don’t get angry. I know that seems contradictory to a person with Borderline Personality Disorder but I’ve never been a person to react to anything with anger. I’m more likely to feel hurt than angry.

I don’t know if the anger and irritability is from the medication or just from stress. I’m not really sure what is me anymore and what is medication. I wanted to stop Meds to see but my doctor didn’t think it was a good idea.

I’m seeing my doc next week. I wonder if he will up the dosage. I believe it can go up to 20 mg. I’m currently on 10 mg.

I had given all my self harm tools to my therapist. I’ve been really struggling lately and today I bought a new pocket knife. I know I shouldn’t it just helps my anxiety more than anything else. It helps with the overwhelming emotions. I wish I was one of those people that could exercise my stress away but I’m a potato. I’ve tried to exercise. I suck at it. I can’t get into it, I get dizzy and light headed. I don’t know. I guess I will consider myself cured when my go to thought isn’t cutting.

7 thoughts on “Brintellix not working #brintellix #antidepressants New blog post

  1. JL Craft says:

    Been on Brintellix for over a year now….am EXTREMELY sensitive to ALL meds so started with only 5mgs and it seemed to help. In June my new Dr bumped it up to 10 mgs and that’s cool except my worst and most chronic, severe symptom has been insomnia and now it’s even worse than ever. Although, I don’t find I’m exhibiting classic manic symptoms like I would have in the past when unable to sleep. I’m not energetic at all, in fact, I struggle for energy and try to eat healthy to give myself energy. But, I just can’t seem to lick this insomnia…..it sucks, big time. I find Topomax that a friend gave me for a migraine a couple of times (only 50mg) helped make me sleepy. But, I’ve been on mood stabilizers before and the problem is they don’t just make me sleepy at night, they TOTALLY DOPE me up, make me fat as hell and unable to accomplish much of anything. Any suggestions????

  2. Kayla says:

    Hi, I’ve been taking Brintellix (20mg) for about a month now, and I can’t see any improvement either:/
    Have you talked to your doctor? What did he say?

  3. Victoria says:

    If you have Bipolar, you should not be on an antidepressant; it may swing you into mania. Mania for you could be the anger and cutting. The treatments for Bipolar are mood stabilizers like lamictal, lithium and depakote, and atypical antipsychotics (even if you don’t have psychoses), like Abilify, Seroquel and Latuda. Nothing else will address the mania. If you are certain you have bipolar and not depression-only, strongly consider getting off the antidepressant as soon as possible (under your doctor’s supervision), and adding a mood stabilizer and/or atypical antipsychotic. Good luck!

  4. tlohuis says:

    I’ve recently been diagnosed with BPD and I do get angry. I, also cut. I guess that’s what us BPDer’s do. No one can understand it, but us. I’ve never heard of that medication you are on. Is there a generic brand name, or a brand name, another name for it? I’m on all kinds of medications and have been on all kinds of different ones, nothing seems to work. I’ve already given one of my therapists 3 knives. Doesn’t stop us, now does it? I was at Sam’s Club and they were handing out paring knives for free. LOL I thought, sweet. I know that’s not really funny, but it was given to me and let me tell you, I’ve put it to good use. My therapist did ask if I could bring it to her and I said I could, but I would just end up getting another one or using something else. I want to stop, but it’s not that easy once you get started. Good luck on your journey. I wish only the best for you. Hopefully, one day we can both stop cutting. Hang in there, it has to get better. I’m always here if you ever want to talk, vent or whatever. Hoping your day was a “good” one.
    Peace,
    Tammy:)

    • Brintellix was recently approved by the FDA. It’s new. I’ve gone two months clean. No cutting.

      • HAIL MARY says:

        Also on the brintellix” I think we started around the same time…
        I was still feeling manic and compulsive. I was put back on clonazapam and also 15mg ER of adderall. I went to a group, which is sometimes the only thing in my power to do.

        Didn’t help, doubled the brintellix, still nothing.

        I’ve read online that one of the warnings is lack of feeling; turning people into serial killers and such.

        Please keep me updated on your progress, or lack thereof…

        XOXO
        St. Mary

      • tlohuis says:

        Thank you so much for that information. I’ll have to check into it. I wish you the best. Good job on the no cutting, that’s a gigantic step, you know? Keep up the good work.:)

Feedback is appreciated

