It’s tough when you find out your parents were mentally ill #bipolar #schizophrenia #depressiom

Both my parents died a long time ago. It’s been 25 years since my father died. I don’t know a lot about him. Today my brother told me that he had been diagnosed with schizophrenia and was manic depressive. Obviously they call that bipolar now. I didn’t know this about my dad. I remember him “going away” for a while. I thought he went to dry out. Turns out he had a nervous breakdown. I didn’t know that either.

I don’t know what mental illnesses are inheritable and which ones aren’t and honestly I’m too tired to look on the internet right now. I guess I’m in shock. It’s hard learning new things about your parents when you are 43. My brother said that he has paperwork that states those diagnosis.

I guess I am amazed that I’m not more messed up than I am. I don’t know how to process this. I’ll bring it up with my therapist.

5 thoughts on “It’s tough when you find out your parents were mentally ill #bipolar #schizophrenia #depressiom

  1. Edwinkmmd
    Yes I can view it. Strange that I couldn’t the other day. Must have clicked on something wrong. Thanks.

  2. edwinkimmd says:

    Reblogged this on Are You Mental? and commented:
    Thank you for sharing.

  3. Love the post. Be easy. This might help: http://wp.me/p4iPIo-17

Feedback is appreciated

