Atypical Bipolar diagnosis #bipolar #bpd

I haven’t written anything in a very long time. I’ve been very low and really struggling with getting my medication right. I saw my Psychiatrist yesterday. I really like him. He comes across as a very brusque guy but he always spends the time to find out what’s is going on in my life to try to get my medication right. I don’t think I’ve ever had an appointment that only lasted 15 minutes even though that’s what they are scheduled for.

I met with him yesterday. He pulled out a new sheet and told me he was writing the opening sentences that they have to write to show we actually met and he said, “so atypical bipolar…”
WHAT?
I think he noticed the shocked look on my face because he said, “We’ve discussed this right?”
Ummmm no we haven’t. So he told me that because antidepressants don’t work for my depression (I’ve tried 22 different meds) and because Remeron actually made me manic that I definitely have atypical bipolar. He said if I didn’t the meds wouldn’t have made me manic.

That really threw me. He diagnosed me with Borderline Personality Disorder last year and that was hard to swallow too. You like to think that it’s just depression. That you don’t really have a mental illness. Now I have a dual diagnosis.
It has me freaked out.

Feedback is appreciated

