Started painting again

I got an urge and went to Michael’s on black Friday and bought some paints and canvas board. I know that I need to do something, keeping active keeps my mind from falling into the negative thought patterns. I have a BFA in fine art with a sculpture concentration and a minor in art history. Painting was never really my thing but I enjoyed my first attempt even though it needs some work.

20111210-084703.jpg

It’s pretty dark and moody, I’m not sure why I picked that subject matter. I already have an idea for my next one that I might start today. My youngest got off to a really bad start this morning, waking me up at 4 am and wouldn’t go back to sleep or let me sleep. So I need a distraction, something to keep me from going nuts.

My therapist was very excited to hear that I started painting. I showed him the painting. You can definately read my depression in the darkness of the image.

2 thoughts on “Started painting again

  1. Man, that’s a good painting.

    You should be proud of that.
    http://just-a-little-weekday-crazy.blogspot.com/

  2. PictureS says:

    I have a Blog for beginners in oil painting. You might find something useful there if you are starting in oils.

Feedback is appreciated

