Got called a faggot today

I work in a high school. There were a bunch of boys that had been hanging out after the bell to move on to class. Today like the other days I told them that they needed to get moving that I knew they had somewhere they needed to be. As the group was walking away one of the kids said, “With that short hair and all those piercings she must be a faggot.” I actually couldn’t believe it. I didn’t see the kid who said it but one of my students did and she went to the camera room to point him out to the dean. She said that she was so upset that the kid said that to me. I was so proud of her for standing up for me.

I’m not sure why it’s bothering me as much as it is. I got called a dyke once walking down a street in Boston. Someone yelled it out the window of their car. It was quite a while ago and I don’t remember how it made me feel.

They actually asked me how I wanted him punished, how the hell should I know. They were willing to suspend him, in the end I told them to give him an in-house suspension, but only if he understood, really understood, how bad it was.

2 thoughts on “Got called a faggot today

  1. The irony is I’m not even really pierced. Just earings and an eyebrow ring. I’m was just surprised and admittedly bothered by the word he choose.

  2. Some people are just spectacularly ignorant; and being a kid is no real excuse. I’ve experienced similar from having piercings – I’m either gay (I’m bisexual actually, but that’s nobody’s business), a goth (very far from it, I’m pretty average and like folk music) or attention seeking. I think some people just can’t help but pigeonhole others, if only to make themselves feel better.

Feedback is appreciated

